Martin C. Evans

Early morphine curbs PTSD in trauma victims, study shows

In Uncategorized on January 13, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Morphine may be the magic bullet that kills post traumatic stress disorder before it develops, a study of troops gravely-injured in Iraq revealed.

The study, published in the New England Journal of Medicine, looked at the records of 696 severely injured Marines. It found that those who were given morphine during the early moments of their resuscitation were significantly less likely to later display the anxiety and depression associated with PTSD than those who were not administered the powerful painkilling opiate.

Researchers believe morphine’s effectiveness in curbing PTSD stems from blocking a patient’s memory formation following injury-causing traumatic events, and the fear response associated with them.

Their conclusions were based on the experiences of troops injured in combat and treated at forward medical facilities in Iraq between January, 2004 and December, 2006.

The researchers said their findings were similar to those obtained during a study of child burn victims published in 2001. That study also showed lower rates of PTSD symptoms among patients who got morphine early.

  1. good Old Morphine The Military’s drug of choice. They used it during WW2,Korea, and they hit me with it when I got wounded in Nam. Great stuff except to those guys that got hooked on it.A lot of them started on that and graduated to stuff like smack and coke. Me I developed a liking for good stuff like Jack Daniels,and good Kentucky bourbon.I was smashed when I got wounded. Drunk on duty? It was common over there.Today they pee in the bottle three times a year.I did it too while I was in, but in Nam I peed in two places The Latrine in Base Camp, and in the rice paddies out in the jungle. I often wonder who had it harder, we Nam vets or these kids.Sure we had a great many more loses, but we didn’t have some up tight religious culture telling us what we could read,or couldn’t read.In Nam a USO visit was a happening They came in shows, they came by themselves,they brought booze, cigarettes,goodies and letters from home.The Family,and friends could send what ever they thought we should have, and more often than not I would wind up sharing big boxes of goodies with my buddies. In Nam we didn’t have the WWE, but we had a lot of big stars and pretty girls In Nam we didn’t have a lot of religious clerics telling us that these girls could not parade around in scimpy underwear.I remember how we teased Anita Bryant because she would not lift her skirt and show us her legs. Ann Margaret walked out there and showed us a pair of beautiful legs,and those legs had stockings and garters on them.I know that had to be one heck of a discomfort for her,Nam could get really hot, and humid. But she did it for us, and we all love her for it.Well I guess I’ve just about worn out my welcome today. As I said before these youngsters are making a very big sacrifice for us, and we old veterans need to remember what it was like then as opposed to what it is like now. I remember not too long ago I found myself faced with a ghost from my past, when a Vietnam anti war protestor decided to reveal herself to me. I think I could almost hear her knees knocking when she told me that the only reason was to stop the killing. She did not approve of the SDS, the Weather underground,or the flagrant disrespect as she called it that was shown to us Vets. I could not help but wonder how many others were like that. All I know is that I told her to let it go, and forget it.What’s past is past as far as I’m concerned
    SFC Paul McDermott US Army Retired

Leave a Reply

